The Newbies

Bonney and Curly Bill have two new friends: a Nigerian Dwarf doe and her doeling, who isn’t quite a doeling anymore. We drove to Elkton today (those 39 minutes that Google Maps said it would take? It felt more like hours!) to pick them up. The trip over was exciting we almost met a celebrity. Harrison Ford was in a silver (or is it gray?) Mustang in front of us. We know it was Harrison Ford.

Harrison Ford

How did we know? Danny says that this man- well, Harrison Ford- has Harrison Ford’s hair. Not to mention that in one of his movies he was driving a Mustang. Therefore, this IS Harrison Ford. And we almost met him! I still think Danny should have rear-ended them…

Harrison Ford has a beard? Who knew...?

After stalking Harrison Ford and his unknown date, we met the seller at the 7-11 in Elkton. From there, we followed him (in his Prius) to a bumpy gravel road. And then turned onto a- what was it, Danny? Glorified path? – that was bordering on bone jarring . Did we mention that this man was going about 60 miles an hour on this “road”? Okay, maybe not 60, but he wasn’t crawling. I’m thankful for our Jeep. And he did it in a Prius.

Kids think riding in the car on bumpy roads in 90 degree weather is fun. I guess it's their version of a roller coaster.

When we arrived, there was an awesome half stone, half weathered board building that we cornered the goats in. I wish I had a picture of it. It was somewhat dilapidated, but still so cool.  Two escapes, another capture, and two trips carrying (NOT me. The seller. Have you ever tried to carry a goat?) goats later, we made it to the Jeep.

The perfect goat transporter: the trunk area of a Jeep.

The Jeep? Yes, we DO put goats in our Jeep.  I sit in the backseat with our children to keep the animals from jumping over the seat. The return trip is never dull. Long, but not dull.

When we got home, D’o’jers had to go meet the goats. They are a little iffy on him- I don’t think they’ve seen a dog before.

"What kind of goat IS that?"

Overall, I’m pleased with our purchase. They are nervous, but I think that with time they will grow to like me. What’s to not like? I give great treats- cucumber peels, pepper tops, potato skins, banana peels… I’m definitely fun.  And with one-or both- of these does going on the milk stand in the future, they need to be tame. It’s my job to get them there.

They still aren’t named. Until they are, they are just “they,” “she,” or “the doe.” Any ideas?

5 thoughts on “The Newbies”

    1. I love them! So cute. I especially love the “for short” names. We’ll go with Jeepers for the doe and Hattie for the doeling. Thanks for the suggestions! 🙂

  1. I’m not familiar with either name as a feminine form of either masculine form, but I like the names. They’re Bethany’s goats, so we’ll have to wait and see what she thinks.

  2. Well, I’m jealous. My dad put the “billy” goat, and yes Danny, I know that is not the proper name but I forgot what you told me it was, in the back of my equinox, which I thought was pretty exciting, but unfortunately, Brian, my husband, was not so thrilled. Goat droppings in the equinox is still a pretty sore subject. Those are cute names:) I’m so creative, I came up with names like Brownie, El Cremo, and then it stopped.

    1. Buck. It’s politically correct because it doesn’t imply tin can eating or other negative stereotypes. We put a tarp down in the back of the Jeep to cut down on mess. So far it’s worked.

Leave a Reply

