That Sweet, Sweet Grain

My newest dairy goats, Hattie and Jeepers, need a little incentive to come to me. The solution is sweet grain: a delicious combination of corn, oats, barley, and alfalfa pellets lightly tossed with molasses. It’s made just for my goats by the chefs who are employed by Southern States.  The critics give it rave reviews.

Hattie and Jeepers are a little haughty. You see, they have eaten grain out of a bucket. Eating from a human’s hand is beneath them. But it’s my grain, my rules. Eat out of my hand or else.

Step one was for them to realize that I have grain. I was sneaky. I took a bucket with me. <Evil grin.> They thought they were getting grain from the bucket.

“Ooooh, a bucket!”

But they didn’t. Remember? My hand or nothing.

“I don’t know. You smell kinda funny.”

Hattie was going for nothing. No way was she going to be brought down to level of eating out of a human’s hand. How common.

Jeepers was almost ready to condescend.  Hattie was warning her not to.

The temptation was too strong. She did it. Jeepers ate from my hand. And it was good. After all, those goat chefs know what they’re doing.

But eating out of my hand when I’m on the other side of the fence will not work if I’m trying to milk her. I refuse to put fencing up between my side of the milk stand and hers. So I entered the pasture.

Hattie decided to pull a “I told you so.” “I warned you, Jeepers. I told you not to eat out of her hand. Now she expects you to come to her.”  I had to wait patiently, the bucket beside me.

Hattie started thinking about the small pieces of grain she’d licked up out of the grass. Maybe, just maybe, she could sneak past me to get to the bucket… it was worth a try.

Closer… closer… This time it was Jeepers who was warning Hattie.

And finally, Jeepers rushed to my hand. The overpowering thought of the oh-so-tasty dessert was too much to ignore.

And poor Hattie was left licking up the crumbs once again. My hand just isn’tgood enough for her.

But that’s okay. One victory at a time. I’ll get her next time…

Leave a Reply

