Butchering Rabbits

I didn’t take pictures when I butchered rabbits the other day, so instead of explaining how I did it, I’ll give a link to someone else’s description of how they butcher theirs.  This is on a blog written by an apprentice at Polyface Farm, about an hour from where we are.

http://polyfaceapprentice.blogspot.com/2009/01/butchering-rabbits.html

If you read the comments at the end of the article, there’s some discussion about cervical dislocation.  In layman’s terms, that means you break the rabbits neck before bleeding it.  The argument for it is that it’s a surer method than hitting the rabbit with a stick.  The argument against is that it might not bleed out as thoroughly.  There are steadfast proponents of both methods.  Neither is wrong, just do what works for you.

In addition to what they showed, the skins can be rinsed and sealed in freezer bags and frozen until you have a few to tan.  I’ll be writing about that, too, once I have a few to work with.  I’m not sure what I’ll do with the skins, but there’s no sense in letting them go to waste.

Published by

Danny

Husband, father, jack-of-all-trades.

2 thoughts on “Butchering Rabbits”

  1. My husband soaks the cut-up rabbit in salted water to remove the blood. Overnight in the refrigerator usually accomplishes the deed.

    You will need to ask him what he does with the paws………….

    1. The salt water is a great idea. I’ve heard of that (Bethany touched on it in an earlier post) but it always skips my mind when I butcher anything. I already keep the carcasses in a cooler filled with water to keep the flies off, so adding salt would be simple. I’ll definitely do that next time.

Leave a Reply

