Ah! I’m out of eggs!

I run out of eggs all the time. Really. You’d think I’d remember to get more, but I don’t. Today, while about to make dessert (my parents are coming over for supper, so I have to have dessert) I realized I was out of eggs. What to do…?!

Google. I love Google. Have I mentioned that yet?

Tip Nut had a great list of substitutes. Who knew there were so many? I went with the first one, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 1/2 tablespoons of water, and 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil.

This is what the mixture looked like:

It’s alive! It seriously bubbled. Like, baking soda and vinegar bubbled. So, of course, I then had to Google “baking powder and oil interact” to see why. The only answer I found was from eHow. The sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) and acid in the baking powder interact with liquids, causing bubbles that help foods to rise.

Not as cool of an answer as I thought.

Anyway, next time you don’t have any eggs, try out an egg substitute from Tip Nut. Let me know which one you try, what you used it for, and how well it worked!

5 thoughts on “Ah! I’m out of eggs!”

    1. I would love to know which is the best, thanks! Would your vegan friend happen to have a blog? I’m always on the lookout for good meatless recipes! As a note- I think I would cut back on any other baking powder in the recipe if using the baking powder/oil/water substitute. My cookie bar came out more cake-like than normal.

  1. Most of the blogs I follow talk more about the Vegan/Vegetarian/Organic/Local eating movements more than actually posting recipes.

    I occasionally post vegetarian recipes on my blog – I think I have Vegetarian Eggrolls and Cheesecake Stuffed Strawberries on my blog right now.

    I’ll let you know if I come up with anything else – you might want to check out: http://www.vegetariancasserolequeen.com/

    There are some yummy vegetarian recipes I’ve tried from there.

    1. Thanks for the website!

      It seems to me that blogs are either (like you said) all talk about the act of eating a certain way and no recipes, or all recipes and no talk about why. Something for me to keep in mind as I continue to post about my family and our lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

