Cloth Baby Wipes/ Antibacterial Wipes Formula

My cloth baby wipes (and the wipes I use to wash Bonney’s udder, too!) are both soaked in the same water mixture. I did a lot of research into what I should wet my baby wipes with. For a long time, I used a water/lotion/soap combination. It worked well and smelled good, but still wasn’t quite what I wanted. I wanted more of an antibacterial wipe for when we were out and about; something I could clean a high chair in a restaurant, a dropped toy, or dirty hands with.

I learned of tea tree oil about a year ago. At the time, it seemed like a great idea. But when I looked at the prices, I gasped and figured “I’ll never pay that much, so forget it!” A month or so ago, Danny read that tea tree oil was good for repelling fleas. As we have had some major flea problems, the tea tree oil price wasn’t too high.

Tea tree oil is a natural antibacterial, antiseptic, fungicide, and bug repellent. And I’ve been shocked at just how well it works when it comes to repelling fleas! It smells so good; I’ve started associating “tea tree oil” with “baby.” (Kind of like most people do “baby” and “baby powder.”)

(If  already have cloth wipes, read my post on how to fold them so they “pop up” out of the container. I also have a post on how to cut your own from flannel fabric.)

Wipes “Recipe”

2 c water

2 drops of tea tree oil

1 drop of natural soap- I use Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap

Combine all ingredients and store in a tightly sealed glass jar. I use about 1 cup of the mixture to soak a full tub of wipes, so a little goes a long way!


One thought on “Cloth Baby Wipes/ Antibacterial Wipes Formula”

  1. I love the smell of tea tree oil. I’ve never associated it with “baby” scent, but I guess it makes sense that you would if you’re always using it around your babies! 🙂

    Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

