Ebleskivers (Danish Pancakes)

Yesterday at the Yard Crawl (Read “One Man’s Trash”!), I bought an Ebleskiver pan. (I had to Google how to say that word. Still can’t say it. Listen to the pronunciation here.)

It came with the original package and was only $1!

When I went to pay the seller, she said, “It’s not non-stick.” I replied, “I know. We don’t use non-stick.” She looked shocked. I think she was wishing she’d asked more for it!

I was going to make Ebleskivers last night, but we had no electricical. (You’d have to watch Green Acres to understand the spelling and pronunciation on that one.) So, today after the morning church service, I fed Declan and started on lunch: fried eggs and ebleskivers.

First, I prepared the batter. I then buttered the pan with about 1/16 – 1/8 teaspoon of butter in each “cup.” I REALLY followed directions for once. The recipe said nothing about using a brush, rag, or paper towel. It just said to “place a small amount of shortening in each sup of Ebleskiver Pan.” So that’s what I did. My poor brush looked forlorn left in the tin. It was then time to pour the batter into the pan; each cup got about 2 Tablespoons of batter.

And wait. “Wait patiently. Don’t turn them until they are ready to be turned. Aren’t they ready yet?  No. Now? Maybe I’d better check… ” Finally, finally, the Ebleskivers were ready to be flipped.

I was feeling pretty hungry right about then. It was at this point that I realized something… I forgot to put the jam inside.

You know, the jam that was sitting right there between the stove and my batter so that I wouldn’t forget it. And, yeah, I forgot it. The first batch of Ebleskivers were okay. The jam definitely would have made them more scrumdiddlyumptious! The subsequent batches were MUCH better. I made blackberry filled Ebleskivers, strawberry filled Ebleskivers, and PB & J filled Ebleskivers.

To make filled Ebleskivers (I just love typing that. And saying it in my mind as I type it. Ebleskiver. Danny just asked me how I can say it my mind if I can’t say it. I just can. I can do anything when I’m thinking about it. It’s the execution that’s a little shaky.), I put about 1 Tablespoon of batter in the pan, then 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of filling in the center of that, then 1 Tablespoon of batter on top of the filling.

Turning them is the semi-tricky part. I used a mini spatula (similar ones available here for $4 & up) and a fork. The spatula loosened the Ebleskiver from the pan; the fork was just to stabilize as I was flipping.

If there isn’t enough batter put on the top of the jam, they aren’t very round. But still yummy. I personally would make these with fresh fruit sometime- apples, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, raspberries… the possibilities are endless!

So here’s the recipe:

Buttermilk Ebleskiver

3 eggs, separated
     2  T  sugar
1/2  t  salt
    2  c  buttermilk
    2  c  flour ( I used 1 2/3 c whole wheat & 1/3 c unbleached white)
    1  t  soda
    1  t  baking powder
 
Beat egg yolks until light and lemon colored. Add sugar, salt, and buttermilk; mix well. Sift together flour, soda, and baking powder; add to egg mixture. Beat egg whites until stiff. Fold into batter. Place a small amount of butter in each sup of Ebleskiver Pan, and fill 2/3 full with batter (About 2 tablespoons of batter worked great for me. Make sure you pour the batter into the center of the melted butter. The butter spreads around the batter to keep the Ebleskiver from sticking.). Cook over medium heat until bubbly (like pancakes); turn carefully with fork and finish baking on other side. 


Leave a Reply

