Black Bean Quesadillas

Yesterday evening was an “oh-great-supper-needs-to-be-ready-soon-and-I-don’t-have-a-plan” night. I took a quick refrigerator, freezer, and pantry inventory. I had tomatoes from the garden that needed to be used, like, last week. I had a ton of tortillas from Friday’s crazy, “Hey! Why don’t I make fifty homemade tortillas in the two hours I have before supper?” I had frozen black beans in the freezer. And, as always, I had cheese. Logical conclusion? Black Bean Quesadillas!

Black Bean and Corn  Quesadillas

    10     8-inch tortillas
     7  T  butter
     1   T  oil
     2  c  black beans
     1  c  frozen (or fresh) corn
     1      small onion
     2      small (or 1 large) tomato
     1  t   garlic powder
     2  t   chili powder
1 ¼ c shredded cheese

Heat a skillet (or wok) over medium heat. Pre-heat a griddle to 350° or a large skillet to medium heat. Meanwhile, dice the onion and chop the tomato; keep them separate. When the pan is heated, add oil and onion. Saute the onion until slightly browned but still crunchy. Add the beans, corn, tomatoes, garlic powder, and chili powder. Cook just until heated through. (Note: I didn’t have garlic, so I had to use garlic powder. If you have garlic, use 1/2 of an elephant ear clove of garlic, diced. Saute with the onion.) Turn off the heat, but leave the pan on the burner.

Butter one side of each tortilla.
Place a single tortilla, butter side down, on the griddle. Top with 1/8 cup of shredded cheese,
1/2-3/4 c of the bean mixture,
1/8 cup more of shredded cheese,
then another tortilla butter side up. If the quesadilla looks dome-shaped, don’t worry about it. It will flatten right out while cooking.
Fry until browned, then flip and fry the other side.
I cut my quesadillas into 6 pieces right before serving them.
These are one of my favorite all-in-one meals. I hope you enjoy!
Leave a Reply

