Seasoned Steak Fries

One of my favorite meals(notice I said one. I have many favorites.) is steak fries with cheese and salad. But it takes so long to cut the fries. And they’re never perfectly even, so they don’t all finish baking at the same time. But now we have a slicer!

Danny sliced the potatoes and I cut them into strips. So much easier than before! We shred cheese over our serving of fries right after they come out of the oven. There’s little better than cheesy fries with ketchup.

Seasoned Steak Fries (or Shoestring Fries)

    8   small/medium potatoes (baseball sized)
 ¼ c peanut oil
    2 t basil
    1 t chili powder
    1 t garlic powder
    1 t salt
Preheat your oven to 425º. Cut all potatoes. We used our slicer to cut each potato into ½-inch thick slices, then cut each slice into 2 or 3 strips for steak fries. Dump the potatoes on a  large  baking sheet. I’ve used my large roasting pan, but my favorite for potatoes is my broiler pan without the broiler part. Pour oil over the potatoes and sprinkle them with basil, chili powder, and garlic powder. Stir well to incorporate the seasonings. Place the pan in the oven and bake for 30-60 minutes, stirring once. I know, that’s a large time frame. But it seems to depend on the type of potato how long it needs to cook. White potatoes don’t take as long as russets. White potatoes are my favorite!
5 thoughts on “Seasoned Steak Fries”

  1. Mmmmm. Steak fries with cheese. That looks so good. I order these when I go out pretty often (similar to loaded potato skins) but never thought about making my own.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hmmm, never thought of using my slicer for anything other than meat. We have had a slicer just like yours for years. It is an indispensable item if you plan to process your own meat.

    Aunt Robin

    1. I still haven’y used the slicer myself. But Danny has sure made it look easy! 🙂 We’re planning on buying a meat grinder soon, too. I’m trying to think of how that will help me in the kitchen…

Leave a Reply

