Pop! Pop! Pop!

My favoritest in-laws in the whole wide world bought me a Whirley-Pop for Christmas a few years ago. I love it. See, before I had the Whirley-Pop, I burned popcorn. And burned popcorn. And burned popcorn. And… you get the idea. I really was no good at making popcorn on the stove. But now, I’m a great popcorn maker.

When searching for the perfect recipe, I came upon one that used butter and oil to pop the popcorn. Made sense to me, and the butter flavor was what I wanted. I modified a little- okay, I modified a lot. I usually do. I just can’t leave well-enough alone.

First, preheat a burner on medium heat for 5 minutes. Combine 1/4 c peanut oil, 3 T butter, and 1/3 c popcorn in a Whirley-Pop. When the burner is hot, set the Whirley-Pop on it and start turning the crank. Bella’s idea: I wrap my arm with a towel or cloth napkin while holding the handle. The oil does sometimes manage to slip through the steam vents, and it hurts.Turn the crank until the popping slows to 1-2 seconds between pops. Pour into a bowl and sprinkle with 2 teaspoons of salt.

This popcorn is best if enjoyed when the kids are in bed and there’s a movie playing. Although, sometimes it is fun to share with a two year old. Especially when you find popcorn places you didn’t know you’d ever find popcorn. Like in a shoe. Or in a clothes drawer.

Buttery Whirley-Pop Popcorn

1/4  c peanut oil
    3  T butter
1/3  c popcorn
1/2  t salt
Preheat a burner on medium heat for 5 minutes. Meanwhile, combine the oil, butter, and popcorn in the Whirley-Pop. Set the Whirley-Pop on the burner when it is hot. Turn the crank until the popping slows to 1-2 seconds between pops. Pour the popcorn into a bowl. Sprinkle with salt, stir, and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

