Earthquake!

Wow. I’ve never felt an earthquake like I just did. My computer was shaking pretty hard, even. Tank tried to warn me right before, but I figured he was being his normal goofy self. When I felt the first tremors, I thought the train was going by; I could hear a rumbling that sounded a lot like the train.

According to CNN, the epicenter was in Mineral, Va. With a 5.9 magnitude, it matched Virginia’s largest recorded earthquake, which occurred May 31, 1897. Aftershocks from that quake were felt until June 6.

Today’s quake was felt as far away as New York City. I’m glad it wasn’t worse here. Tank isn’t easy to calm, and the kids are taking naps. I can see him trying to be a heroic puppy and bursting through their doors to save them.

Leave a Reply

