Veggie Burgers, Trial One

I posted yesterday that I was going to make a veggie burger from scratch. My first try with veggie burgers actually went well. In fact, I think I’ll keep the basic recipe and tweak bits of it.

I began with rice. I knew that I wanted the majority of the “burger” to be rice, so I combined water and rice in a pot. Then I started a debate with myself. Did I want to add seasoning now or later? I decided on now. I added to the rice and water: garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, and black pepper. I cooked the rice according to package directions – bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for 20 minutes – with one exception. During the last five minutes of cooking, I added diced carrots and diced celery. After the rice was done, I added diced mushrooms, basil, salt, and cheese. The cheese actually wasn’t necessary to the texture. But it did add a great flavor!

I heated peanut oil in a sauce pan on just below medium heat.With my rice mixture all sticky and gooey, I oiled a bread board and plopped out 1/4 cup of the rice mixture on the board. Using a teaspoon, I shaped the patty. It was fast and easy. I formed four burgers, hoping that they would turn out well, and placed them in the heated pan. They sizzled. And they began to send an aroma into the air, a delicious I-can’t-wait-to-taste-these aroma.

Once I had four fried and four more in the pan, I announced supper time and eagerly awaited my family’s critiques of my made-up recipe.

Danny tasted it. Bella tasted it. No one said anything.

Finally, I tried mine. It was good. The carrots were a little too crunchy, but the rest of the patty was delicious! Danny (after I asked) told me they were good. I would rather hear “great” or “when are you making these again?”, but I settled for good.

Things I need to fix? Cook the carrots longer. They were just too crunchy for the burger; it threw the textures off. Also, I think I will saute diced onion and garlic instead of using the powders. I’m debating sauteing some red pepper, also. We’ll see.

Veggie Burgers, Trial One 

  1 c rice
  2 c water
¼ t garlic powder
¼ t onion powder
¼ t chili powder
¼ t pepper
 2 T diced celery
 ⅓ c diced carrots
 ⅓ c diced mushrooms
¼ c shredded cheddar cheese
Combine the rice, water, powders, and pepper in a pot. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat; reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 15 minutes. Add the diced carrots and simmer for 5 more minutes. Stir in remaining ingredients. Heat 3 tablespoons of oil in a sauce pan over medium heat. Form 1/4 cup of the mixture into a patty on a greased bread board. Place each patty in the sauce pan and fry until both sides are golden brown. Serve on bread with any toppings you’d place on a hamburger. Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Veggie Burgers, Trial One”

  1. I have tasted boca burgers and was surprised that they were actually good. I think your homemade burgers look good just plain. But then again I really like rice.

Leave a Reply

