Finally, a Storage Solution

I don’t remember if we posted pictures before of our mud room closet/pantry/feed room.  When we still had the Freedom Rangers we usually had several hundred pounds of feed on hand, with the Rangers eating about 25 pounds a day.  The closet was always packed full of feed bags.  That also caused our mouse problem.

Today at Wal-Mart we found these awesome storage containers.  We bought 4 on impulse, and as soon as we got home with them, we wished we’d bought more.

They’re the perfect size to hold 100 pounds of feed.  On the bottom we have crumbles for the chickens next to scratch feed.  On top is cat food and sweet feed for the goats.  There’s just enough room under the shelf to keep an extra mineral block on top of the bins.

I’m not usually a big fan of storage bins.  They’re great for storage but impractical for daily use.  And if we don’t use it frequently, we probably don’t really need it.  Yeah, yeah, I know.  I have boxes of stuff I never use.  I’m working on it, alright?

In spite of my usual dislike for plastic bins, I love these things.  At $10 they’re a durable solution to an ongoing problem.  And certainly a lot easier to access than trying to reach the bottom of a 55 gallon drum.

Now I’m going outside to build a vapor carburetor for my mower.  Then I’ll give the dogs baths, and try to finish my chicken butchering post.  I know it’s way overdue, but cut me some slack.  I’ve been busy and sick – not a good combo.

Published by

Danny

Husband, father, jack-of-all-trades.

6 thoughts on “Finally, a Storage Solution”

  1. This looks like just what I need. Do you know who the manufacturer is or what the bins are called? I haven’t had any luck searching Walmarts site. Thanks!

    1. Thanks for the comment, Dan. I hope you’re enjoying the blog.

      Google “Suncast stacking bins” and you will find them on Walmart’s website and a few others. I found three at the dump recently – hard to beat that!

      After using the bins for a few years I’ve identified a couple problems. First, they’re a pain to fill if they’re stacked. Second, the lids will crack if a heavy bin is stacked on top. Third, there’s a significant gap where the lid hinges which invites weevils and rodents, depending on what you’re storing. We launched a house wide weevil war when our chicken scratch feed started an outbreak. A shelving system built to house 5 gallon buckets or standard Rubbermaid style tubs might be a better option. A plain old trash can is a good way to go if stacking isn’t a must. The galvanized cans, while pricey, are hard to beat, and come in every size imaginable. We keep dog food in unstacked Suncast bins, chicken feed in galvanized garbage cans, and food for our own consumption in airtight 5 gallon buckets. Not a perfect system, but it works well enough.

      1. Thanks for your helpful reply Danny! I kinda jumped the gun, found one before you replied and ordered it. I have a very limited space, and the size and lid opening would have been perfect for it. But your third warning has convinced me to return it. The hinge opening isn’t visible in the pictures, but I don’t want to take chances of insects or extra rodent temptation. Been through that before.

        You wouldn’t happen to know if a full 50 lb. bag of chicken feed would fit into a 10 gallon galvanized can would you?

      2. If I remember right, I’ve split a 50 pound bag between two 5 gallon buckets so a 10 gallon can should work fine. I think the can I use for my chicken feed is 35 gallons and I can fit 3 and a half bags of feed in it. Of course, different mixes of feed will change the volume slightly but I think it will fit.

      3. We had a couple ducks that figured out how to open the bin if it wasn’t latched tightly. I don’t think chickens are that smart, but be sure to snap the lid closed just in case.

Leave a Reply

