Making My Own Birthday Cake: Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting

Yesterday was my twenty-somethingth birthday. No, really. I had to think about my age when Danny asked me how old I was. I remember how exciting birthdays were. In fact, it wasn’t THAT long ago that I couldn’t wait to be older. Now I can’t remember how old I am. I think I’m too young for that.

Anyway.

I wanted chocolate cake with chocolate icing, but some stupid person used all of the cocoa to make the cake and didn’t have any for the frosting. So I improvised. I made peanut butter cream cheese frosting and sprinkled the cake with chocolate chips. Delicious!

Danny cut quite a bit more than he truly wanted! This cake is RICH.

Chocolate Cake (Made with Honey!)

    3 c flour
    1 T baking soda
    1 T baking powder
1 ½ t salt
1 ½ c cocoa powder
   3     eggs
   ¾ c olive or peanut oil
1 ½ c water
    1 c yogurt
    2 c honey

Pre-heat oven to 350° F. Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cocoa powder in a large bowl. Add the eggs, oil, water, yogurt, and honey; stir until well-combined. Pour into three greased 10″ springform pans. (Note: I only had two, so put double the batter in one pan, baked about 10 minutes longer, then cut it in half with a bread knife to make 2 layers out of it.) Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the cake is pulling away from the sides of the pan. Allow to cool overnight before frosting.

Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting
     1   8-oz package of cream cheese, softened
     1   stick of butter, softened
    ⅔ c peanut butter (I used chunky!)
   ¼ c milk
5-7 c powdered sugar

Combine the cream cheese, butter, and peanut butter with a blender. Gently stir in milk. Add the powdered sugar gradually. Add as much as you want; I wanted  a very firm frosting, so I added around 6 cups.  Frost each layer, the top, and the sides of the cake. If desired, sprinkle with mini chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet or dark). Enjoy with a tall glass of cold milk!

Leave a Reply

