Homemade Laundry Detergent

After two years of buying the expensive but non-chemically detergent, I had had enough. I was tired of spending WAY too much money to clean our clothes. So I scoured the internet until I found ingredients for homemade detergent that I agree with.

I’ve used one full batch of this detergent and have started my second batch. It took about four weeks of using this detergent for me to notice a difference, but our clothes are much cleaner than they ever were with store-bought cleaners. Even Danny has noticed the difference!

Homemade Detergent

     1    bar soap (I use Dr. Bronner’s Castile soap, available here for $4.09 +                                                    shipping)
1/2  c Borax
1/2  c washing soda
     4     gallons of water
Chop the bar of soap into 1″ cubes. Melt the soap in one quart of water over medium heat in a pan. When the soap is melted, dissolve the washing soda and borax in the mixture. Pour into a 5-gallon bucket; add enough water to fill the bucket approximately 3/4 of the way full.

To wash one large load of clothing, use 1/4 cup of detergent. I use 1/3 of a cup in a load of diapers- that’s diapers from two days, about 17 diaper shells and 42 liners.  The soap doesn’t get super sudsy, just enough that I don’t worry that it’s not working. 🙂 Also, Borax, washing soda, and Dr. Bronners Castile Soap are all septic system safe!

I can’t find my pictures (for some reason), but I believe the directions are fairly straight forward.

Leave a Reply

