It’s that time of year again…

… when I cry every time I hear the Christmas song “Mary, Did You Know?”

I have children.

What if I knew that my child was God’s only Son? That I had the perfect child, the child who was gifted to me – a mere human, a sinful human – to raise. To know that he was the One, the Messiah, come to forgive the sins of the world – my sins. What would it be like to know so much, and yet so little?

Can you imagine what it was like for her to see her child suffer? To see him die? To remember him as a small baby that she lay in a manger. To remember rocking him to sleep, hearing his first words, seeing his first steps. To remember all of those small moments that are so easy to forget. And now, now… to see him betrayed. To see him beaten and mocked. To see him die.

We don’t know how much Mary knew would happen. But we know what did happen. We know that we serve a risen Savior, Jesus Christ, King of Kings, and Lord of Lords! It isn’t just the thought of being in Mary’s place that brings tears to my eyes; it’s the realization that I am the reason Jesus came. I am the reason he was willing to die.

Thanksgiving day is over and the Christmas season has begun, but let us not forget that we have much to be thankful for. The true reason for the season is Christ. Don’t leave him out. Celebrate his life. His death. His resurrection. And the fact that he did it all for you and me. That very fact should bring tears to your eyes, too.

Leave a Reply

