Angel Food Cake: Sugarless!

Angel food cake is one of the best ways to use up extra eggs. Of course, if you make one, you have to use up all of the egg yolks, too. That’s why there are yellow sponge cake recipes. 🙂

As part of our no-sugar resolution, I made the cake with just that: no sugar. I substituted 1 cup of maple syrup for the 1 1/2 cups of sugar the recipe required. Trust me, it’s plenty sweet. In fact, I am going to cut the sweetener down to 3/4 cup next time. This cake can also be made using the same amount of honey as maple syrup.

Angel Food Cake

12 – 14     egg whites, or enough to make 1 ½ c
            1  c  flour
            2  t  vanilla or other REAL extract
           ¼  t  salt
        1 ½  t  cream of tartar
            1  c  maple syrup or honey

Pre-heat oven to 375° F. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar, salt, and vanilla with an electric mixer until it forms stiff peaks.

Slowly drizzle in maple syrup or honey while the mixer is running.

Sift 1/4 cup flour over mixture and gently fold in.

Repeat with remaining flour, 1/4 cup at a time.

Pour into an ungreased bundt pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes. Allow to cool in pan for an hour, then gently remove.


***Note: When I separate my whites from my yolks, I use 3 bowls: one for yolks, one for whites, and the bowl that I will be mixing in. As I separate, I dump 2 white into my mixing bowl from my small bowl at a time. I’ve separated 11 eggs for a cake , only to have the yolk in my twelfth egg break and mix with my whites. Not fun.

 

I love angel food cake with fruit and whipped cream. Yum! Unfortunately, I don’t always have cream to whip. In that case, I make a fresh or frozen fruit sauce by combining 1 cup of fruit and 1/4 cup syrup or honey. Heat on the stove just until the fruit releases its juices. Stir well, and serve warm or cold. A little thin for you? Combine 2 T water with 2 t corn starch and stir into the fruit. Heat to boiling while stirring, then remove from heat. This will become “gelled” when cold. I don’t like it cold, just warm.

                   

Angel Food Cake

12 – 14     egg whites, or enough to make 1 ½ c
            1  c  flour
            2  t  vanilla or other REAL extract
           ¼  t  salt
        1 ½  t  cream of tartar
            1  c  maple syrup or honey

Pre-heat oven to 375° F. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar, salt, and vanilla with an electric mixer until it forms stiff peaks. Slowly drizzle in maple syrup or honey while the mixer is running. Sift 1/4 cup flour over mixture and gently fold in. Repeat with remaining flour, 1/4 cup at a time. Pour into a bundt pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

12 thoughts on “Angel Food Cake: Sugarless!”

    1. I most often use unbleached white flour.I never use any flour that has been bleached,as most cake and all-purpose flours are. I have used whole wheat with success! It MUST be sifted if you use it, or the cake will fall. Whole wheat flour leaves a slightly nutty flavor and a slightly chewier texture. It’s really good!
      Thanks for asking!

  1. I tried your recipe using egg whites from the freezer that I had slowly collected, fresh ground whole grain wheat flour, bran sifted out as best as I could with whatever mesh strainer I had on hand and creamed honey, mixed to make it as runny as I could. It turned out pretty good, I only used about 3/4 cup honey. The kids liked it but i thought it could be a little sweeter, I should have used the whole 1 cup you indicated. Thanks for the recipe.

    1. Thanks for the comment! I always reduce the amount of honey/sugar/syrup a recipe calls for, as well, so I completely understand where you are coming fromon your change! Hopefully you’ve tried it again with the full amount and found it more enjoyable. 🙂

    1. I have never used egg ehites from a carton for anything, so I had no idea how yo answer this question… until Gogle. 🙂
      From my quick research, sometimes carton whites work and sometimes they don’t. When they do, the cake does not rise as much and does not have the crisp crust associated with angel food cake. Hope this helps! Please leave a comment telling how your cake turns out if you use the carton whites.

Leave a Reply

