Bella’s School

I haven’t updated on Bella’s schooling lately. We actually haven’t done much in the past two months. I decided to go with more of an “unschooling” approach than I had been. Bella liked school and wants to learn, so I thought she would ask to “do school,” as she puts it. My plan was to not do specific letter/color/number/etc. oriented teaching unless she asked, but to continue our usual baking/cooking/cleaning/life “teaching.”

My plan went awry.

It turns out that Bella is quite content to just play with Declan. She doesn’t ask to learn something new unless she is reading an alphabet book, in which case she wants me to teach her all of the letters right then. She also started “acting out” more often (Bella? Bad? Never!) and had way more unused energy. And with this two-month-long experiment, I learned something. I should have stuck with what we were doing. Yes, it took extra time. Yes, it took extra thought. Yes, sometimes we did skip a day or two because it just wasn’t fun or convenient then. But it worked.

Bella is the type of child who needs more structure than just the breakfast, lunch, nap, supper, bath, bedtime routine. I’m not going to plan our days down to the minute; no “math at 8:15, letters at 8:35, shapes and colors at 9:05” stuff for my family! However, I am going to have a plan for each week.

We are going back to school. Bella and I both need it!

One thought on “Bella’s School”

  1. The rocket phonics course is fun to use and the easiest to use that I have found. I homeschooled my children for 25 years. I only have three but the oldest is 15 years older than the youngest. I was not taught phonics as a child and tried 8 different phonics courses before I found the rocket phonics one. I play concentration and go fish with the phonic cards in the rocket phonics. There are many good resources out there that do not cost so much. My children learned much by being with their dad and I. We too needed some structure.

Leave a Reply

