But I don’t want to go Gluten Free! (Blueberry Cake made with Oat Flour)

This past week has been entirely too fun-filled for my taste. First, we realized that Bella seemed to have the run-to-the-bathroom-every-five-minutes kind of upset stomach. My first thought was the way she eats: mostly fruits and vegetables and whole-grain breads. It’s a high fiber diet for her!

Then, I remembered that we had just re-introduced whole wheat bread into our diet. I had run out of wheat the week before our stomach flu episode, and bought more at the beginning of last week. Her upset stomach started about the same time as I started making bread again. Long story short, we decided to go gluten-free for a week, then dairy-free for a week, then something else free for a week, etc… until we figured out what exactly was upsetting her. I didn’t see how it could be gluten; she’s been eating whole grains since she turned one. Lactose intolerance didn’t make sense, either, since she’s had raw milk for over a year now. But, better safe than sorry, and my little girl was miserable.

Starting Wednesday of last week, we went gluten-free. It went okay. It was hard for me, especially. I didn’t realize how important bread had become to us! This morning, Bella asked to make cupcakes with me. My first thought: “Oooooh, great. How do I explain this one?” But, why couldn’t I make cupcakes? I have rice and oats… maybe, just maybe this could work! And work it did. This is another “keeper recipe” for me! (Note: I realize that there is a lot of debate about oats and a gluten-free diet. However, from our side of things: we haven’t eaten a lot of oats, d a lot of wheat. Eating oats would at least eliminate wheat in our trials.)

So, have we figured out the problem? I think we have, and it’s not wheat or dairy! When we bought our wheat, we also bought a pineapple/passion fruit mixture in fruit juice. Bella LOVES pineapple, and ate a ton of the fruit at the same time she had wheat. She finished the last of the pineapple on Friday. This morning, Bella had pineapple for the first time since Friday, and five minutes afterward, she came to me and complained that her tongue hurt. While it’s possible that she just bit her tongue, I’m wondering if there’s something more to it…

Blueberry Oat Cake

Cake:
      8 oz cream cheese
    ½ c butter
      2 c oat flour
    ½ c rice flour
    ½ t baking soda
    ½ t baking powder
    ¼ t salt
    ½ c milk
      1 T vanilla
      2    eggs
1 ¼ c honey
1 ½ c blueberries (frozen or fresh)
Topping:
1/3 c rice flour
4 t butter
Preheat oven to 350°. In a food processor, combine both flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Cube the cream cheese and butter and place in the processor with the flour mixture. Run the processor until the mixture is holding together. Add the eggs, milk, honey, and vanilla; process until thoroughly combined. Pour into an ungreased 9″ x 13″ cake pan. Sprinkle with the blueberries.
Combine the topping ingredients in the food processor; process until the butter is cut into small pea-sized pieces. Sprinkle on top of the cake. Bake at 350° for 30-35 minutes or until a cake tester (which, for me, is a piece of spaghetti!) comes out clean.Enjoy every last yummy bite!
2 thoughts on “But I don’t want to go Gluten Free! (Blueberry Cake made with Oat Flour)”

  1. I was a taste tester and it was delicious. It also had an amazing texture- definitely a recipe I’ll keep and use with a variety of fruits.

Leave a Reply

