Potato (or Broccoli) Cheese Soup

On Thursday, a friend came over and we had broccoli soup for lunch. When she asked for the recipe, I mistakenly told her the recipe was on my blog. Oops… it wasn’t. 🙂 I distinctly remember writing it and taking pictures for it, but now cannot find the post anywhere. The pictures have also disappeared. Who knows? I have crazy mom brain.

My recipe (Singular, yes. Same recipe; one has potatoes, the other has broccoli.) for Potato Soup and Broccoli Soup come from my Mom. It’s the BEST recipe I’ve ever had, and I will never, never, ever, ever switch to another. I hope you enjoy it, also!

Potato OR Broccoli Soup

       1   quart chicken broth
    ½    onion, chopped
     4     garlic cloves, peeled
     2 T butter
1/3 c  shredded carrot
     5 c  peeled (or not) and cubed potatoes
                          OR
     5 c broccoli pieces
    1 c shredded cheese (Any kind; I’ve used Farmers, Cheddar, Colby-Jack, Mozzarella…)
   ½ c milk (or buttermilk)
   ¼ c flour OR 2 T cornstarch
Salt and Pepper to taste
Basil, Parsley, and/or Oregano to taste
Saute garlic and onion in butter over medium heat until softened and slightly browned. (You can do this in a skillet or directly in your soup pot, which is what I do.) Pour broth into the soup pot and bring to a boil. Remember that you will be adding more things to the pot, so you don’t want to use a pot that just barely holds your broth! Add potato or broccoli and carrots. Cook for 8-10 minutes or until the vegetables are done.
A note: I think that’s about how much potatoes and broccoli I add. I never measured, so I am not sure. I add enough broccoli that the broth doesn’t quite cover it, as the broccoli “shrinks” when it cooks. I add enough potatoes that the broth barely covers it. If you want more broth than veggies, add fewer veggies. If you want more veggies, add more and cover partially with a lid.
Meanwhile, in a blender, combine the milk, flour (or cornstarch), cheese, and 1/2 c of hot broth from the pot. Blend until thoroughly processed. Once the potatoes (or broccoli) is done, slowly pour in the milk/cheese mixture, stirring constantly. Allow to boil for three minutes, stirring constantly. If the soup is not thick enough, combine 1/2 c broth from the pot and 1/4 c flour or 2 T cornstarch in the blender and add to the soup. (Warning: if you will be cooking enough to have leftovers, the soup DOES thicken as it cools and sets. However, if you over-thicken, you can make a nice casserole with it; pour it into a casserole dish and sprinkle it with bread or cracker crumbs. Yum!) Taste your soup and add salt, pepper, and herbs as necessary. My favorite addition is basil and oregano with potato soup.
Leave a Reply

